Sopinka Cup Committee

MANDATE: To monitor the operation of the Sopinka Cup trial competition; to ensure that the competition  continues to bear the stamp of excellence meriting the College's association with it; to ensure that, where fiscal support is provided by the College, appropriate budgetary mechanisms are in place so that the College can be confident that its money and resources are being well spent; and to ensure that the Fellows of the College are engaged in these activities to an extent that is appropriate and useful and that the College has appropriate involvement and recognition in the competition as a significant sponsor, including recruiting Fellows to serve as judges and assessors, presentation of awards and having an officer speak at the closing banquets.

Committee discussions will now take place on ACTL Connected. Click on this link to sign in and start a discussion with your committee.

Committee Members

Image of Christine J. Glazer, Q.C.

Christine J. Glazer, Q.C.


McKercher LLP Barristers & Solicitors

Saskatoon, SK

Image of Kenneth B. McCullogh, Q.C.

Kenneth B. McCullogh, Q.C.

Vice Chair

Stewart McKelvey

Saint John, NB

Image of Chantal Chatelain

Chantal Chatelain


Superior Court of Quebec Palais de Justice

Laval, QC

Image of Tracey M. Cohen, Q.C.

Tracey M. Cohen, Q.C.


Fasken Martineau DuMoulin LLP

Vancouver, BC

Image of Perry R. Mack, Q.C.

Perry R. Mack, Q.C.


Peacock Linder Halt & Mack LLP

Calgary, AB

Image of James Kenneth McEwan, Q.C.

James Kenneth McEwan, Q.C.


McEwan Partners

Vancouver, BC

Image of J. Gregory Richards

J. Gregory Richards


WeirFoulds LLP

Toronto, ON

Image of Martin F. Sheehan

Martin F. Sheehan


Superior Court of Quebec Palais de Justice

Montreal, QC

Image of Heather J. Williams

Heather J. Williams


Superior Court of Justice

Ottawa, ON

Image of Peter K. Doody

Peter K. Doody

Immediate Past Chair

Ontario Court of Justice

Ottawa, ON

Image of Sandra A. Forbes

Sandra A. Forbes


Davies Ward Phillips & Vineberg LLP

Toronto, ON