Thurgood Marshall Equality and Justice Award

The Thurgood Marshall Equality and Justice Award, named for the revered lawyer, civil rights advocate and first Black Associate Justice of the Supreme Court of the United States, is to be given from time to time to an individual who has been a champion of justice and equality in all forms, including but not limited to race, ethnicity, gender or sexual orientation or other form. The candidate must possess vision, courage, and fortitude, and must have stood steadfast in the passionate and effective pursuit of equal justice under the law.

How To Submit a Nomination
A nominator need only submit a letter of support, and the award committee will complete an investigation before deciding whether to recommend the person to the Board of Regents. You may send your letter to

Winners of the Thurgood Marshall Equality and Justice Award

Fred D. Gray
Tuskegee, Alabama

Hon. John R. Lewis
(presented posthumously)
Atlanta, Georgia