The College has established awards to recognize examples of courageous advocacy and significant contributions to improvement of the litigation process. More than 150 accredited law schools in the United States and every law school in Canada participate in College-sponsored national trial and appellate moot court competitions. In the United States these include regional rounds and a final national round. Fellows serve as judges and jurors and use the occasion to introduce the participants to the trial and appellate process.


Emil Gumpert Award

This annual award recognizes programs, whether public or private, whose principal purpose is to maintain and improve the administration of justice.

Samuel E. Gates Litigation Award

This award was established in 1980 to honor a lawyer or judge who has made a significant, exceptional and lasting contribution to the improvement of the litigation process.

Griffin Bell Award

The Griffin Bell Award for Courageous Advocacy was established in 1964. The award may be made to any lawyer, whether or not a Fellow of the College, who has demonstated courage in unpopular or difficult cases. 

Sandra Day O'Connor Jurist Award

In 2007, the American College of Trial Lawyers established the Sandra Day O’Connor Jurist Award. The award is to be given from time to time to a judge in the United States or Canada, whether or not a Fellow of the College, who has demonstrated exemplary judicial independence in the performance of his or her duties, sometimes in especially difficult or even dangerous circumstances. 


Gale Cup

The annual Gale Cup Moot Court Competition began in 1974 when the Canadian Bar Association-Ontario agreed to sponsor the competition in recognition of the Honourable George Gale, former Chief Justice of Ontario.  The Competition is held annually at Osgoode Hall in Toronto.

National Trial Competition

The College co-sponsors the National Trial Competition held each year in Texas.  The Texas Young Lawyers Association presents the competition, which attracts teams from more than 140 law schools and involves more than 1,000 law students each year.

National Moot Court Competition

This national program is co-sponsored by the College and the New York City Bar Association. In addition to sharing the financial costs, many Fellows of the College assist as judges in the 15 regional competitions and at the finals held in New York each year. 

Sopinka Cup

The Sopinka Cup is awarded annually at the National Trial Advocacy Competition to participating teams from Canadian law schools.