

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

ACTL ANNOUNCES 2025 NATIONAL MOOT COURT COMPETITION WINNERS Celebrating its 75th Anniversary, the National Moot Court Competition is cosponsored by American College of Trial Lawyers and the New York City Bar Association

NEWPORT BEACH, CALIFORNIA (February 7, 2025) – The 2025 National Moot Court Competition finals were held January 29-31 at the New York City Bar Association. The American College of Trial Lawyers (ACTL) and the New York City Bar Association co-sponsor the competition; This year marks the competition's 75th anniversary.

This year's finals competition consisted of the best of 148 regional teams competing from over 100 law schools across the United States. The National Champions team was from Boston University and included team members Preetham Chippada, Henry Drembus and Michael Gorman. The coach of the team is Jennifer McCloskey. University of Iowa College of Law was the runner-up, with a team composed of Alex Lewis, Siduri Beckman and Lydia Lavrova.

Judges included: Muhammad Faridi, President, New York City Bar Association; Richard H. Deane, Jr., President, ACTL; Hon. Eunice Lee, United States Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit; Hon. Jenny Rivera, Court of Appeals for the State of New York and Hon. Ellen Gesmer, Appellate Division of the Supreme Court of New York, First Department.

The Fulton Haight Award of \$2,500, presented to the law school of the winning team, is funded by the Fulton Haight Fund of the Foundation of the American College of Trial Lawyers. In addition, the Fulton Haight Award plaque is presented to the Best Oral Advocate of the Competition. This year's winner was Henry Drembus from Boston University. In 1973, Past President of ACTL Joan A. Lukey was the first female recipient of the Best Oralist award.

The National Moot Court Competition was founded in 1950, and it is co-sponsored by the College and the New York City Bar Association. In addition to the financial support provided by the College, many Fellows of the College assist as judges in the 14 regional competitions and at the finals held in New York each year. More than 150 accredited law schools participate in this program involving more than 1,000 students.



About The American College of Trial Lawyers

The American College of Trial Lawyers comprises the best of the trial bar from the United States, Canada and Puerto Rico and is widely considered to be the premier professional trial organization in North America. Founded in 1950, the College is an invitation only fellowship. The College thoroughly investigates each nominee for admission and selects only those who have demonstrated the very highest standards of trial advocacy, ethical conduct, integrity, professionalism and collegiality. The College maintains and seeks to improve the standards of trial practice, professionalism, ethics, and the administration of justice through education and public statements on important legal issues relating to its mission. The College strongly supports the independence of the judiciary, trial by jury, respect for the rule of law, access to justice, and fair and just representation of all parties to legal proceedings.



Photo, above (left to right): ACTL President Richard H. Deane, Jr.; winning team from Boston University

CONTACT:

Sarah Stokes
American College of Trial Lawyers, Senior Communications Manager 949-752-1801
sstokes@actl.com