

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

The American College of Trial Lawyers Presents Hon. Barbara M. G. Lynn With Samuel E. Gates Litigation Award Judge Lynn is a pioneer in instituting in-person trial protocols during the COVID Pandemic

NEWPORT BEACH, CALIFORNIA (March 11, 2022) - The American College of Trial Lawyers (the College) has presented its Samuel E. Gates Litigation Award to Chief Judge of the United States District Court for the Northern District of Texas, **Barbara M. G. Lynn** during the 2022 Spring Meeting in Coronado, California. The award honors a lawyer or judge who has made a significant contribution to the improvement of the litigation process. In its more than 40 years of existence, the award has been extended previously only 26 times.

The American College of Trial Lawyers is composed of Fellows who represent the best of the trial bar in the United States and Canada. There are more than 5,800 Fellows of the College, including Judicial Fellows elected before ascending to the bench, and Honorary Fellows, who have attained eminence in the highest ranks of the legal profession, the judiciary, or public service.

College **President Michael L. O'Donnell** of Wheeler Trigg O'Donnell LLP in Denver, Colorado said: "One of the core values of the College is preserving access to Justice. During the COVID-19 pandemic, Judge Lynn helped redesign courtrooms, created health and safety protocols, implemented solutions to communications and reinstated in-person jury trials while most of the courts in the country remained shut down. Her work created a template to bring greater access to justice across the country during the challenges of the past two years. The College is honored to present Judge Lynn with this award."

Immediate Past President Rodney Acker of Norton Rose Fulbright US LLP in Dallas, Texas, who presented the award to Judge Lynn said: "Her COVID-19 Case Study and protocols created a course for other judges on how to safely navigate-in person jury trials. She created a 70-page Handbook on how to safely conduct trials during the pandemic and freely shared it with other judges to advance the return to trials more quickly than would otherwise have been possible."

The award committee reported that: "[Judge Lynn] has, in no small measure, saved and preserved the fundamental right to jury trials. There can be no greater contribution to the litigation process than that of Judge Barbara Lynn."

Judge Lynn has been a U.S. District Judge for the Northern District of Texas for 21 years. In 2016, she became the Chief Judge, the first female Chief in Texas. A summa cum laude graduate of UVA, Judge Lynn graduated first in her class from SMU Dedman School of Law before joining the Dallas firm of Carrington, Coleman, where she remained until she took the bench. She is the Vice-President of the American Inns of Court Foundation, a member of The Honorable Barbara M. G. Lynn American Inn of

Court, and two other Inns. She has served as Chair of the ABA's Section of Litigation and Judicial Division. Judge Lynn received the Distinguished Alumni Award from SMU in 2021, was listed in the Best Lawyers in America in Business Litigation and designated by the National Law Journal as one of the fifty most influential women attorneys in the country. She has been recognized by the International Women's Forum with the Women Who Make A Difference Award, was the recipient of the Dallas Bar Foundation Fellows Award, and the Athena Award from the Dallas Regional Chamber. Judge Lynn is a Judicial Fellow of the American College of Trial Lawyers as well as judicial advisor to the patent projects of the Sedona Conference.

About the Samuel E. Gates Litigation Award

This award is presented by the Foundation of the American College of Trial Lawyers and was established in 1980 to honor a lawyer or judge who has made a significant contribution to the improvement of the litigation process. The person selected might be a trial practitioner, a judge, a teacher, a writer, a legislator, an administrator, or initiator of organizations or programs, or some other person whose work has been substantively significant or who has inaugurated or advanced significant programs. Samuel E. Gates was a President-Elect of the College who died shortly before he was to be sworn in. In Gates' memory, the College created the award in his name. The award is funded by Gates' old firm, Debevoise and Plimpton of New York City. Gates was recognized as a pioneer in the field of aviation law, playing a major role in shaping the laws and international conventions that govern airline flights, and in representing domestic and international airlines.

Previous recipients of the award are: M. David Lepofsky – 2020; Former Colorado Supreme Court Justice Rebecca Love Kourlis – 2016; Honorable Allan van Gestel (Ret.) - 2015; Donald R. Dunner -2013; James B. Sales - 2011; Honorable Judith S. Kaye - 2008; Honorable Ronald M. George - 2007; Honorable Robert R. Mehrige, Jr. - 2004; Garry D. Warson, Q.C. - 2004; William R. Jones, Jr. - 2003; James E. Coleman, Jr. - 2002; James J. Brosnahan - 2000; Honorable Dorothy W. Nelson - 1999; Honorable Patrick E. Higginbotham - 1997; Honorable William J. Brennan, Jr. - 1993; Honorable William W. Schwarzer - 1991; Honorable Sam C. Pointer - 1990; Honorable David Hittner - 1989; Professor A. Leo Levin - 1988; Robert W. Meserve - 1987; Professor Daniel J. Meador - 1986; Professor John W. Reed - 1985; Honorable Robert E. Keeton - 1984; Joseph A. Ball - 1983; Honorable Erwin N. Griswold - 1982; Honorable Edward Weinfeld – 1981.

About the American College of Trial Lawyers

The American College of Trial Lawyers is composed of the best of the trial bar from the United States, Canada and Puerto Rico and is recognized as the leading trial lawyers organization in these countries. Founded in 1950, the College is an invitation only fellowship. The College thoroughly investigates each nominee for admission and selects only those who have demonstrated the very highest standards of trial advocacy, ethical conduct, integrity, professionalism and collegiality. The College is dedicated to maintaining and seeking to improve the standards of trial practice, professionalism, ethics, and the administration of justice through education and public statements on important legal issues relating to its mission. The College strongly supports the independence of the judiciary, trial by jury, respect for the rule of law, access to justice, and fair and just representation of all parties to legal proceedings. For more information about the College, visit its website at www.actl.com.

Photo Available:

Photo of Judge Lynn with Immediate Past President Acker on the occasion of receiving the Samuel E. Gates Award is available from the American College of Trial Lawyers. Please contact Sarah Stokes.

CONTACT:

Sarah Stokes Senior Communications Manager American College of Trial Lawyers 949-752-1801 <u>sstokes@actl.com</u>

###