National Trial Competition (U.S.)

The College co-sponsors the National Trial Competition held each year in Texas.  The Texas Young Lawyers Association presents the competition, which attracts teams from more than 140 law schools and involves more than 1,000 law students each year.

The Kraft W. Eidman Award is presented by the American College of Trial Lawyers, and consists of $10,000 to the winning school and a plaque to each member of the winning team.  This very generous contribution is endowed by Norton Rose Fulbright LLP.  Beck Redden LLP presents a $5,000 award to the second place team, and each semifinalist team is awarded $1,500 by Polsinelli.  The Best Oral Advocate is awarded the George A. Spiegelberg Award, donated by Fried, Frank, Harris, Shriver & Jacobson.

Upcoming Competitions

2017 Competition Information

Final Rounds: March 22-26, 2017
Fort Worth, Texas

For more information, visit the Texas Young Lawyers Association website

Competition Winners

  • 2017
    Winning School/Team:
    Northwestern University
    Doug Bates, Garrett Fields, Stacy Kapustina
    Best Oral Advocate/School:
    Amarto Bhattacharrya, Georgetown University Law Center
  • 2016
    Winning School/Team:
    Harvard Law School
    Amanda Mundell, Joe Resnek
    Best Oral Advocate/School:
    Joe Resnek, Harvard Law School
  • 2015
    Winning School/Team:
    Chicago-Kent College of Law
    Emily R. Schroeder and Nicolette A. Ward
    Best Oral Advocate/School:
    Emily R. Schroeder, Chicago-Kent College of Law
  • 2014
    Winning School/Team:
    Yale Law School
    Hank Moon, John James "J.J." Snidow, Ben Wallace
    Best Oral Advocate/School:
    Gus J. Lazares, The Ohio State University Moritz College of Law