Gale Cup (Canada)

The annual Gale Cup Moot Court Competition began in 1974 when the Canadian Bar Association-Ontario agreed to sponsor the competition in recognition of the Honourable George Gale, former Chief Justice of Ontario.  The Competition is held annually at Osgoode Hall in Toronto.

In 1991, the American College of Trial Lawyers, in recognition of Mr. Justice Brian Dickson's outstanding contribution to Canada’s common law jurisprudence, donated the Dickson Medal honouring former Chief Justice Dickson.  Chief Justice Dickson was a particularly devoted friend of the College and an Honorary Fellow.  The medal was created by Kenneth Jarvis, Q.C., former Secretary of the Law Society of Upper Canada, and is awarded annually to the student or students who demonstrate excellence in oral advocacy at the Gale Cup Moot Competition.

Upcoming Competitions


February 17-18, 2017
Toronto, Ontario


For more information, visit the Gale Cup site

Competition Winners

  • 2017
    Winning School/Team:
    Université du Québec a Montréal
    Daphnée Drouin, Valérie Kelly, Marie-Ève Tremblay
    Best Oral Advocate/School:
    Daphnée Drouin, Université du Québec a Montréal
  • 2016
    Winning School/Team:
    McGill University
    Vallery Bayly, Greg Elder
    Best Oral Advocate/School:
    Dickson Medal for Exceptional Oralist, Final Round: Michelle Psutka, University of Ottawa
  • 2015
    Winning School/Team:
    University of Toronto
    Joseph Bricker, Ryan Durran, Samuel Greene, Ada Keon
    Best Oral Advocate/School:
    Dickson Medal for Exceptional Oralist, Final Round: Fraser Genuis, University of Alberta
  • 2014
    Winning School/Team:
    L'Universite de Sherbrooke
    Jessica Drolet, Fanny Dubois-Grondin, Fanny Forest, Gabrielle Harvey, Samuel Monfette-Tessier, Julien Rochon
    Best Oral Advocate/School:
    Annie-Claude Auther, Universite du Quebec a Montreal